top of page

The Power of General Music

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

I asked many people four simple questions: 1) Does the power of general music have an impact on your life? 2) Do you think the power of general music impact others’ lives? 3) Do you think the power of general music impact the community around you? and 4) Do you think the Power of general music impacts the many cultures around us? These four questions seek to understand the power of general music and its impact on us. How does music impact our community? How does it impacts our lives, and how we think it impacts other lives and cultures? And by general music I mean from the most popular song published to a random kid drumming on a deck calling it music. and here's what a few people said;


Brock Schardin, Spanish 1 teacher at DSST: Byers High School

“Yes, music is impactful. I am a musician myself and always thinking about music [It] sets the mood. Music is a language itself. As far back as we know we’ve had music, [ The lyrics] Is more of a mirror than a script.”


Amanda Berg, Composition Teacher at DSST: Byers High School

“Absolutely ues it to alternate my mood to connect to other people. As a writer [I use it] to set the mood for writing In the same ways in creation of expression. Music [is] almost like a non-verbal [way] connection [that is used] for communication. [It can] Be very calming [and] inspirational [by the] type that goes with style. The ability to share political movements into songs [and to be] able to use music to communicate. Language is a huge part [in] [becoming] more happier. Music that is specific to a specific culture is music that people make a connection to. [Sharing] music is a good way of communication. It can cause different stereotype understanding. [But] beginning to understand other people”


August Guettlein, Freshmanat George Washington High School (GW)

“Yes it impacts my life [It] makes me creative, [and it] always [dancing] in sing. [It] make everyone happy. [It] always different cutlers bring different music.”


Jakob Rosen, Freshman at DSST: Byers High School

“Yes, it impacts my life because I can connect to it [in a] way to express myself. [ It’s] not always positive. [I] hear it in social media [and in other apps to] bring everyone together”


Guinivere Kelley, Freshman at Denver School of the Arts (DSA)

“It lets me express myself. Everyone has some type of interest in music [that] people can enjoy. [The different] genres [helps me] learn more [about the different cultures]. {It] gives me the feelies”


Zelda Bierhaus, an 8th grader at DSST: Byers Middle School

“Yes, it has an impact. If I think I messed up on something I can relate [to the song]. My community is emo [and] emo music creates an identity [and] how they act “


Sean Kavanaugh, Principle at Hill Campus of Art Sciences (HCAS)

“Yes, it has a huge impact, It sets the mood for reading for joy or happiness. I think it brings people together and its rooted together”


Carolyn Warpinski, Band Teacher at Hill Campus of Arts and Sciences (HCAS)

“Music connects our humanity, open perspectives that we might not normally have. It brings committees as a shared experience. It’s a way to share their invisibility.”


Aaron Novy, Art teacher at Hill Campus of Arts and Science (HCAS)

“ It helps you create memories and recalls memories [and the] Instant feeling. Even if you’re not thinking of it in a way it’s a sound track of your life. It can attract people and detract people [from] all over the world. [Parts of the world that] we can’t always explore”


Randy Ruyan, Orchestra teacher at Hill Campus of Arts and Science (HACS)

“I find myself hearing rhythms, [and] I find myself drawn to shows that choose their music that relates to the theme. If it didn’t [impact other people] they wouldn’t spend millions of dollars on advertising. if it didn’t have an impact on the costumer they wouldn’t have [the music]. Iit can retreat a community and create an absence. An expression of all cultures, of the arts have an expression of the culture”


Matthew Placido, Social Studies teacher at Hill Campus of Art and Sciences (HCAS)

“Yes a very big impact It brought me close to my dad a connect that broke down barriers. Music set me up for my academics Music [also] made me good in school, and played a good role in making me a good student. After junior year I joined the choir, and it changed my life. [I was ] always sharing music with [everyone]. Music taught me discipline music also taught my how to organize myself {and] made me who I am today. Whenever I need to get focused I pick up my guitar and sing. Music and food are the main impact. If someone brings you something to eat or some new music they love you in love with them. I wouldn’t have had a friends that I have if it wasn’t for music.”

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Album Reviews By Charles and Gavin

2005 Late Registration, Kanye West Rating: 9.0 Ye’s sophomore album builds upon the same themes of education and identity developed in his debut. Late Registration combines excellent sampling and prod

Jewish Cultural Club Morning Meeting By Aviva Weiser

Jewish Cultural Club led a Morning Meeting for Holocaust Remembrance on January 24th. The Morning Meeting focused primarily on my family’s story and went over the history of the Holocaust and its mode

bottom of page