top of page

Interview with The Score

During my morning meeting a few months ago, I mentioned a few bands that really helped me cope with my anxiety. The Score was one of them.


I discovered The Score during my 9th grade trimester 3 finals when I was trying to study and find music that could motivate me. I stumbled upon a song called “Miracle,” and noticed the band name underneath the title: “The Score.” I was desperate, as well as procrastinating and starting to give up on studying, so I gave the song a shot.


I was thrown into a song that conveyed such a heavy amount of emotion and meaning that I had to pause the song, listen to another song, and then revisit it so I could comprehend what the singer was saying. I’m not typically someone who fancies songs with curse words, and “Miracle” had a few. Despite this, I connected to the song because they talked about how “success is a door that always slams,” and how they were “trying to break it” (The Score).


During the time of these particular finals, I was trying to achieve a dream that I wanted to obtain to for three years. This song also reminded me of how I was always met with failure when I tried to achieve it. Miracle addresses how the band struggled with music and how passionate they were about creating the thing they loved. I became heavily tied to the lyrics because I was trying to resurface from a rough time while obtaining this goal I had set for myself a few years back. I had written “A Letter From Fear” and “Awkwardly Optimistic” shortly before this time period, and was intrigued by “Miracle”, not only because of the lyrics, but because of the rhythm, thus leading me to further explore the rest of their music in hopes of finding a new band.


I took interest in The Score, pushed through finals and ended up achieving my dream of getting all A’s; the same dream that seemed impossible for me three years ago. I believe I owe a majority of my recent academic success to The Score. Without them, I doubt I would be who I am today and resurfaced as quickly from a rough period in my life. The Score’s music, other than “Miracle,” is clean. They are a fantastic band and are an excellent source if you need motivation for anything. Their music ranges from self acceptance to getting out into the world and doing something that could be life changing. A majority of their music is uplifting and energetic; however, a few of their recent songs range from calm to upbeat. The Score’s musical variety enables any listener to choose a song that fits the mood they are in.


I sent them a message a few months ago asking if I could interview them for our newspaper, and they agreed. I was so ecstatic that I could interview the people behind the music because they’re fantastic people who care deeply about their fans and are extremely passionate with their work! I was also thrilled to interview the people who helped me through a tough time and helped me come in terms with success. Below is the interview with The Score:


1) Why was the band named "The Score"?

The Score: The music we write is “the score” to our lives... the challenges and excitement of pursuing our dreams in music... and our drive and determination to be victorious. So our music is very much an inspiration to us as it is to our fans. We’re happy people can relate to our story in their own lives.


2) What was an inspiring moment you two had together?

The Score: An inspiring moment we first had together was getting our first cut for a major label artist within a year of meeting each other. That cemented in our brains that we could do this. No matter how many hurdles we keep facing, we always find something that keeps us going and keeps us inspired to this day.


3) What was a funny moment you two had together?

The Score: A funny moment we had together was probably discussing music together when we first met and realized that we came from polar opposite backgrounds. Edan would mention jazz musicians and I (Eddie) would mention certain rock songs or random punk bands and it was like we were speaking a different language, hah.


4) How do you two overcome challenges that arise while working on songs together? For example: Writer's block, disagreements with what the lyrics to a song should be, etc.

The Score: Whenever we run into a creative wall, we take a break, go for a walk or grab some coffee. It’s important to give your ears and mind a break to get a clear headed perspective. Or just moving onto something else and coming back to it the next day usually works. If we disagree about something, we generally entertain each other’s ideas, try to be as open as possible, and then wait until the next day to make a final decision. We tend to agree in the end.


5) What is some advice for people who are interested in forming a band?

The Score: Learn songwriting and music production. It’ll enable you to make music end to end without depending on others. And also, be persistent and patient. A career in music is a marathon ; not a sprint. It really is a war of attrition, and while it may seem that some artists become big out of nowhere, there’s no such thing as overnight success. The longer you work to get there, the more prepared you will be when it comes.


If you’re interested in The Score, you can find them here:

YouTube: TheScoreVEVO, The Score

Instagram: @thescoremusic

Twitter: @thescoremusic

Facebook: TheScoreOfficial

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page